schools header image

O.I.K.K.A. Member Dojo Listing
We have member schools world-wide.
Click Here

Featured Dojo

Click Here


Featured Event

Master Uezu Demonstrates
Seiunchin Kata
Click here
2016 OIKKA
World Championships 
   Click here



The Okinawa Isshinryu Karate Kobudo Association was established in 1990 by Master Angi Uezu. As of February 1st, 2007 Master Uezu has appointed Master Christopher Chase as his successor and President of the O.I.K.K.A.  Master Uezu continues to play an active role in the organization and has taken the position of Chairman Emeritus and Special Advisor.

What is Isshinryu Karate? 

Isshinryu (one heart/one mind) formally introduced in 1953 by founding master Tatsuo Shimabuku of Okinawa, Japan. Soke Shimabuku studied Shorin-Ryu under Master Choki Motobu and later under Master Chotoku Kiyan (Shobayashi-ryu). He enhanced his study with Master Chojun Miyagi (Goju Ryu, breathing techniques) and furthered his study of the bo, sai, tonfa and nunchaku with Master Shinken Taira. Isshinryu utilizes a refined combination of the best of these styles and epitomizes the lightning fast techniques of Okinawan Karate and Kobu-do.

Goals of the O.I.K.K.A.

  • To assist in the growth of the organization, so that more people may come to experience Isshinryu Karate in it's purest form
  • To continue promoting and teaching Isshinryu Karate under the guidance of Master Uezu and in the tradition that he has established
  • To conduct seminars and tournaments on an annual basis to help unify the membership 


Grand Master Angi Uezu - Chairman Emeritus, Special Advisor
Grand Master Christopher Chase - President, Personal Representative of Master Uezu
Grand Master Ichiro Nakahodo - Vice President, Okinawa Operations Liaison
Grand Master John Devine - Vice President, North America Dojo Operations Consultant
Grand Master Reese Rigby - Vice President, North America Operations Liaison
Grand Master Nick Adler - Special Operations Consultant
Kyoshi Edward Powers -  North America Regional Secretary
Kyoshi Harumi Suzuki - Asia-Pacific/Japan (Mainland) Regional Director
Kyoshi Joao Miguel Costa -  Europe Regional Director
Kyoshi K. Raveendran - United Kingdom Regional Director 
Kyoshi JP Sivabaalan - India Regional Director